Guilford County Commissioners Meeting

Thursday November 5th I drove from Raleigh, NC to High Point, NC to speak at the Guilford County Commissioners meeting. Usually I wouldn’t make such a random trip, but after all that’s been going on environmentally with NC I had to go say something. I felt no need to use all my 3minutes. Briefly I discussed my concerns of the water and soil contamination that has been going on in NC for years. I informed the commissioners that I have made contact with the Latino community to raise awareness on this issues, as they frequently use fields to play soccer (fields that are contaminated). I also let them know that I will not stand for our military bases being contaminated either. It makes no sense that our soldiers have to serve overseas then return to a contaminated state. Their families shouldn’t have to live on contaminated bases either. I concluded by telling them that I will not be silent about this issue.

People in NC are sick and dying because of the sludge spreading and toxic waters. Our local government has misused tax payers dollars. It’s a shame and it’s disgusting. I don’t understand how they can allow this to go on when they have to use the same water they’re allowing to be contaminated! What sense does that make? Exactly…NONE! Why has this gone on for so long? The answer is because people don’t know about it. If I have to stand on Blowing Rock and shout it then go to Grandfather Mountain and shout it I will. I’ve been volunteering with Waterfront Sportsman and the Environmental Investigative Coalition since May and have been putting this information on the internet and will continue to do so.

Sewergate is a term that will be remembered for years to come. If you haven’t heard about it…just stay tuned.

We only get one Earth and it’s time for us to take care of it. Environmentalist are always getting laughed at and teased, “hippie” “tree hugger” etc. What’s funny about someone who wants to take care of the land that they live on? What’s funny about someone who wants to keep flesh eating bacteria out of our lakes? What’s funny about someone who knows Uranium doesn’t need to be mined in Virginia because of the climate? I don’t find anything funny about it.

And that’s all I have to say for today

One response to this post.

  1. I’m yet another person who fights for everyone’s right for clean water. All of my life I’ve lived near water and was always conscious of the delicate balance between man and nature. And most of my life I’ve witnessed man’s follies pitting our species against Mother Nature, with us losing miserably more often times than not. Yet we continue to do the same things expecting different results.

    Water is the new oil of this century. Basic infrastructures that man needs to survive will be mighty war clubs only wielded by power brokers to rake in huge profits.

    The tap roots of our health crisis, financial and real estate collapse, and increased toxic assets are all rooted in WATER.

    The challenge is survival at some point.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

